Vault Admins can configure Vault to automatically synchronize standard reference data from the RIM Central Dictionary. Standard Reference Data Sync supports Controlled Vocabulary and Validation Criteria in Phase 1.
When synchronization is enabled, synced records become System-owned and are edit-locked to maintain data integrity.
Configuring Standard Reference Data Sync
- Navigate to Admin > Settings > RIM Settings.
- In the RIM Settings section, locate Standard Reference Data Sync.
- Select Enable Central RIM Standard Reference Data Sync. Select the standard reference data objects to synchronize:
- Controlled Vocabulary
- Validation Criteria
- Save your changes.
Note: Selecting Validation Criteria automatically selects Controlled Vocabulary because Validation Criteria records depend on Controlled Vocabulary records.
Synchronizing Standard Reference Data
Enabling Standard Reference Data Sync does not immediately synchronize records. After enabling the setting, you can initiate an on-demand synchronization by locating the Central RIM Standard Reference Data Sync job under Operations > Job Status > Scheduled, and selecting Start Now, or wait for the scheduled nightly synchronization.
During synchronization, Vault matches records using the Veeva RIM UUID. Matching records are updated from the central source, and new records are created when no matching record exists. Updates are not reversible and the setting will update and overwrite existing values on selected objects to match to Veeva’s standard, even if they’ve been previously set by a user.
System-Owned Records
Records synchronized from the RIM Central Dictionary become System-owned and are edit-locked. Standard fields managed by the synchronization cannot be edited locally.
Disabling Standard Reference Data Sync stops subsequent synchronization and releases the system-owned locks. If synchronization is enabled again, local changes can be overwritten by the next synchronization.
Considerations
- The first synchronization does not occur automatically when the setting is initially enabled.
- Validation Criteria requires Controlled Vocabulary to be synchronized.
- Synced standard reference data is owned and maintained by the central source.
- Synchronized records cannot be deleted locally.
- If the setting is disabled and later re-enabled, the next synchronization can overwrite local changes.